Eve License Host Error (97)

Before posting something, READ the changelog, WATCH the videos, howto and provide following:
Your install is: Bare metal, ESXi, what CPU model, RAM, HD, what EVE version you have, output of the uname -a and any other info that might help us faster.

Moderator: mike

ylke
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 10:46 pm

Eve License Host Error (97)

Post by ylke » Fri May 10, 2019 1:49 am

Tonight I upgraded my eve-ng-pro with valid license to the latest release 2.0.5-12 and now after a reboot my license is not working
in the lincense info it shows the correct exp date i can also reupload the lic without error

but when trying to start a node I get the following error:

Eve License Host Error (97)

question: what to do now?

some more details:


root@eve-pro:~# eve-info
Fri May 10 03:47:45 CEST 2019
---------------Packages Installed----------------
ii eve-ng-dockers 1.16-eve-ng
ii eve-ng-dynamips 2.0.2-2
ii eve-ng-janus 1.2-eve-ng
ii eve-ng-kali 1.4-eve-ng
ii eve-ng-pro 2.0.5-12
ii eve-ng-pro-guacamole 2.0.4-87
ii eve-ng-qemu 2.0.4-34
ii eve-ng-schema 2.0.4-71
ii eve-ng-vpcs 1.0-eve-ng
ii linux-headers-4.9.40-eve-ng-ukms+ 4.9.40-eve-ng-ukms-brctl
ii linux-image-4.9.40-eve-ng-ukms-2+ 4.9.40-eve-ng-ukms-2-brctl

---------------Hostname--------------------------
Static hostname: eve-pro
Virtualization: vmware
Operating System: Ubuntu 16.04.6 LTS
Kernel: Linux 4.9.40-eve-ng-ukms-2+
Architecture: x86-64
---------------Disk Usage------------------------
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
udev 32G 0 32G 0% /dev
tmpfs 6.3G 19M 6.3G 1% /run
/dev/mapper/eve--pro--vg-root 294G 241G 39G 87% /
tmpfs 32G 0 32G 0% /dev/shm
tmpfs 5.0M 0 5.0M 0% /run/lock
tmpfs 32G 0 32G 0% /sys/fs/cgroup
/dev/sda1 472M 122M 326M 28% /boot

---------------CPU Info--------------------------
Architecture: x86_64
CPU op-mode(s): 32-bit, 64-bit
Byte Order: Little Endian
CPU(s): 20
On-line CPU(s) list: 0-19
Thread(s) per core: 1
Core(s) per socket: 1
Socket(s): 20
NUMA node(s): 1
Vendor ID: GenuineIntel
CPU family: 6
Model: 62
Model name: Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2680 v2 @ 2.80GHz
Stepping: 4
CPU MHz: 2799.098
BogoMIPS: 5600.00
Virtualization: VT-x
Hypervisor vendor: VMware
Virtualization type: full
L1d cache: 32K
L1i cache: 32K
L2 cache: 256K
L3 cache: 25600K
NUMA node0 CPU(s): 0-19
Flags: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss syscall nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon nopl xtopology tsc_reliable nonstop_tsc eagerfpu pni pclmulqdq vmx ssse3 cx16 pcid sse4_1 sse4_2 x2apic popcnt tsc_deadline_timer aes xsave avx f16c rdrand hypervisor lahf_lm tpr_shadow vnmi ept vpid fsgsbase tsc_adjust smep arat

---------------Memory Info-----------------------
total used free shared buff/cache available
Mem: 62G 844M 61G 27M 919M 61G
Swap: 979M 0B 979M

---------------Nic Info--------------------------
2: eth0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq master pnet0 state UP mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
3: eth1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq master pnet1 state UP mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
4: eth2: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq master pnet2 state UP mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
5: eth3: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq master pnet3 state UP mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
6: eth4: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq master pnet4 state UP mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000

---------------IP Info---------------------------
● State: n/a
172.29.129.254 on nat0
172.17.0.1 on docker0

---------------Bridge Info-----------------------
pnet0 8000.00505686dd91 no eth0
pnet1 8000.00505686ad2b no eth1
pnet2 8000.005056860fe1 no eth2
pnet3 8000.005056868eb3 no eth3
pnet4 8000.005056864606 no eth4
pnet5 8000.000000000000 no
pnet6 8000.000000000000 no
pnet7 8000.000000000000 no
pnet8 8000.000000000000 no
pnet9 8000.000000000000 no

---------------H/W Accel-------------------------
INFO: /dev/kvm exists
KVM acceleration can be used

---------------Service Info----------------------
-------------------------------------------------
--------------Guacamole--------------------------
● guacd.service - LSB: Guacamole proxy daemon
Loaded: loaded (/etc/init.d/guacd; bad; vendor preset: enabled)
Active: active (running) since Fri 2019-05-10 03:07:31 CEST; 40min ago

--------------Tomcat-----------------------------
● tomcat8.service - LSB: Start Tomcat.
Loaded: loaded (/etc/init.d/tomcat8; bad; vendor preset: enabled)
Active: active (running) since Fri 2019-05-10 03:07:37 CEST; 40min ago

--------------Mysql------------------------------
● mysql.service - MySQL Community Server
Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/mysql.service; enabled; vendor preset: enabled)
Active: active (running) since Fri 2019-05-10 03:07:55 CEST; 39min ago

--------------Apache-----------------------------
● apache2.service - LSB: Apache2 web server
Loaded: loaded (/etc/init.d/apache2; bad; vendor preset: enabled)
Drop-In: /lib/systemd/system/apache2.service.d
└─apache2-systemd.conf
Active: active (running) since Fri 2019-05-10 03:07:44 CEST; 40min ago

root@eve-pro:~#

ylke
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 10:46 pm

Re: Eve License Host Error (97)

Post by ylke » Fri May 10, 2019 2:08 am

some more info

root@eve-pro:~# sudo /opt/unetlab/wrappers/unl_wrapper -a stop -m 3 -T 0 -D 28 -F "/opt/unetlab/labs/LAB101.unl"

May 10 04:06:37 DEBUG: challenge_answer: false
May 10 04:06:37 May 10 04:06:37 Online Check state: Invalid
May 10 04:06:37 May 10 04:06:37 ERROR: License Host Error
root@eve-pro:~#


i have no idea what online check this want to do but it shouldn't according to my understanding...
anyway the net is unrestricted so if it wants to reach out it is free to do so but i have no idea what the process is trying to do exactly

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 2295
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Eve License Host Error (97)

Post by Uldis (UD) » Fri May 10, 2019 6:25 am

Load your licene again, but that license which was received originally with the order!!
All rehosted licenses are striped off.

Find original email with lic received with your order.
See pdf in attachment.

Uldis
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

ylke
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 10:46 pm

Re: Eve License Host Error (97)

Post by ylke » Fri May 10, 2019 8:31 am

I will try to give it a go again tonight and let you know if it works.

although last night after i did what you suggest here already and waited (and tried to troubleshoot the story) for about 1 hour or more the lic was not validated online as it describes in your provided document.

is this an automated process for which i just should have waited more or someone is looking at this at real time and i need to wait for that person to authorize the lic?

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 2295
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Eve License Host Error (97)

Post by Uldis (UD) » Fri May 10, 2019 9:05 am

NO, lic usually validates with 15-30 mins.
Do you use proxy for your eve?? it can be issue.

Or simply DNS settings are not ok on EVE

another cause could be, if I did rehost you manually, you had asked me rehost you some time ago..
You must be sure that you are using original license, received after payment.
send me your order reference number and email used in the prder, I have to find them to check what happening.

uldis@eve-ng.net

Uldis

ylke
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 10:46 pm

Re: Eve License Host Error (97)

Post by ylke » Fri May 10, 2019 9:23 am

maybe i didn't explain my problem right, but i did not do any rehosting.
i'm still using my original VM that was working just fine until now and had gone through a couple of normal upgrade procedures over the year, but now as i tried to do the same for the latest version as the homepage specifies it, i ended up with this error message.

this upgrading from one version to the next (minor release) constitute as rehosting?

ylke
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 10:46 pm

Re: Eve License Host Error (97)

Post by ylke » Fri May 10, 2019 9:26 am

i got hold of an old image (wasn't easy btw) and it is back working now on 2.0.4-77-PRO version without ever needing to touch the licensing parts.
if i do a simply apt upgrade (to 2.0.5-12) i get this error

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 2295
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Eve License Host Error (97)

Post by Uldis (UD) » Fri May 10, 2019 2:38 pm

you must make upgrade my friend, to sort up all lic issues

dpant
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 16, 2019 12:38 pm

Re: Eve License Host Error (97)

Post by dpant » Thu May 16, 2019 12:43 pm

Hello.
I have the same problem.
Did you solve the problem with version 2.0.5-12 ??

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 2295
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Eve License Host Error (97)

Post by Uldis (UD) » Thu May 16, 2019 7:43 pm

only after version 2.0.5-12 you can rehost EVE license yourself
Means reinstall eve, move to another host
only one requirements is, EVE must be online to validate license.

And only origibal licenses bought and received by email will be ok.
All manually rehosted lic are striped off..
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post Reply