Bare metal install eth0 issue

Moderator: mike

Post Reply
niels
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2021 6:07 pm

Bare metal install eth0 issue

Post by niels » Fri Aug 27, 2021 7:18 pm

Hi there,

I have seen a very old (several years) topic on this issue with no apparent solution: following the bare metal installation, my interface is not changed to eth0 and I lose connectivity.

I have installed everything exactly as the cookbook describes and also I have tried finding a solution myself by adding the following line to a new file: /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules

SUBSYSTEM=="net", ACTION=="add", DRIVERS=="?*", ATTR{address}=="XX:yy:XX:yy:XX:yy", ATTR{dev_id}=="0x0", ATTR{type}=="1", KERNEL=="eth*", NAME="eth0"

Ofcourse the MAC corresponds to the NIC in question.

Has anyone found a solution to this problem yet?

Looking forward, kind regards,

Niels

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 4085
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Bare metal install eth0 issue

Post by Uldis (UD) » Sat Aug 28, 2021 4:33 pm

Use eve cookbook mate..
no other way for...

niels
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2021 6:07 pm

Re: Bare metal install eth0 issue

Post by niels » Fri Sep 03, 2021 10:45 am

Actually read my post??

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 4085
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Bare metal install eth0 issue

Post by Uldis (UD) » Sat Sep 04, 2021 7:15 am

You didnt tell which EVE you trying to install Pro or community

in old days eth0 issue was with NIC drivers and Ubuntu
Step 43.1: OPTIONAL for Broadcom NetExtreme II ethernet drivers in your server. NOT necessary for regular servers. DO NOT reboot EVE before you did Broadcom driver installation below !!

apt install firmware-bnx2x -o Dpkg::Options::="--force-overwrite"

niels
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2021 6:07 pm

Re: Bare metal install eth0 issue

Post by niels » Sun Sep 05, 2021 7:33 am

Indeed, sorry for that. It is the community edition, will upgrade to Pro after I feel I will stick with EVE. I have everything up and running, made a typo during installation when configuring grub.

Thanks for the reply, can start learning for my CCNP now.

Post Reply